Martians and water on Mars

Hello dear reader,

I was reading an article from The Guardian about the new findings about flowing water on Mars. So, I started thinking about why do we actually want to find another form of life so badly and what does this mean to humans as species.

I have always been curious what’s beyond the sky we all see at night, what’s beyond everything known to human kind. I have hundreds of books on my bookshelf, both fiction and nonfiction, that deal with space and the universe. And every time NASA finds something that could prove the existence of extraterrestrial life, I think why do we actually search for this other form of life. Maybe we cannot bare the thought of being alone in the universe?

Some time ago, I had a conversation with a friend about why people keep searching and exploring the universe. It’s human nature to fear the unknown. Do we explore because we are afraid, or because we want to prevent possible threats to our planet? Or maybe the truth is (like in most cases) somewhere in between? The article suggests that there still might be flowing water on Mars. What does this mean to us, however? Do we want to know what exterminated life on a planet so similar to ours, or do we want to know whether there is life that could threaten us and must be destroyed?

I do believe in science, I always did. But I am also concerned whether the purely scientific curiosity hasn’t changed its purpose.

Leave a Reply

